Lumière Festival 2021 & Lumière Prize Ceremony in Lyon Convention Centre

Jane Campion Lumière Prize ceremony on Friday 15 October in Lyon Convention Centre.


For the 13th year in a row, Lyon Convention Centre will host the Lumière Prize award ceremony.

This year again, this renowned event will take place in the Amphitheatre of the Centre de congrès de Lyon. Standing at the rear of the Cité internationale, between the Rhône river and the Parc de la Tête d'Or, this remarkable building hosts both shows and concerts as well as business events, conferences and conventions.

Every year, Lyon hosts the most important event for film lovers. In just ten years, it has become one of the most important film festivals in the world.

The opening night of the 2021 Lumière Festival will take place on Saturday 9 October 2021 and the closing night on Sunday 17 October. In the meantime, more than 300 screenings and countless meetings will take place in the city.

Retrospectives, tributes, events, restored prints, meetings and previews will make up the programme of this 13th edition. This programme will take place in cinemas and theatres of Lyon and the surrounding cities included in The Great Lyon. The world's largest classic film event will be accessible to all.

To find out the programme of the Lyon Lumière Festival: click here

Jane Campion will be awarded the Lumière Prize during the Lumière Festival

On Friday 15 October at 7.30pm, the Lumière Prize will be awarded to Jane Campion, the greatest director in history. The New Zealand film director just received the director’s award at the Venice Film Festival.

Jane Campion was the first woman to win the Palme d'Or at the Cannes Film Festival in 1993 for her masterpiece The Piano Lesson. She is also the first female film director to be appointed President of the Jury at Cannes in 2014.

After the award ceremony, the filmmaker will present the preview of her new film - the Power of the Dog, starring Benedict Cumberbatch and Kirsten Dunst, which won the Venice Film Festival's Director's Prize from Jury President Bong Joon-ho.

Jane Campion will also direct a remake of Louis Lumière's iconic film Exit from the Lumière Factories on Saturday 16 and will close the festival the next day.

The Lumière Festival winners

The Amphitheatre celebrates each year a personality of the 7th Art. 11 great personalities of the cinema have already been awarded the Lumière Prize during the previous editions of the Lumière Festival:



  • Clint Eastwood - 2009
  • Milos Forman - 2010
  • Gérard Depardieu - 2011
  • Ken Loach - 2012
  • Quentin Tarantino - 2013
  • Pedro Almodóvar - 2014
  • Martin Scorsese - 2015
  • Catherine Deneuve - 2016
  • Wong Kar-wai - 2017
  • Jane Fonda - 2018
  • Francis Ford Coppola - 2019
  • Jean-Pierre et Luc Dardenne - 2020




To access the Lumière Festival ticket office: click here

To find out about all our events, go to: agenda

To reach the Lyon Convention Centre/L'Amphithéâtre, go to our access page: click here